

April 2021 Her Story ENewsletter National Medal of Science Recipients

The National Medal of Science, regarded with the National Medal of Technology and Innovation as the U.S. equivalents of the Nobel Prize, is awarded by the President of the United States. The Medal recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions in science and engineering. Medals are awarded in six areas – social sciences, biology, chemistry, engineering, mathematics and physical sciences. The first woman to receive the National Medal of Science was Nobel Laureate Barbara McClintock. That occurred in 1970. In this month's eNewsletter, we feature two other Medal recipients – Susan Solomon and Shirley Ann Jackson, both of whom have been inducted into the National Women's Hall of Fame.



Susan Solomon received the National Medal of Science in 1999 "for key scientific insights in explaining the cause of the Antarctic Ozone hole and for advancing the understanding of the global ozone layer; for changing the direction of ozone research through her findings; and for exemplary service to worldwide public policy decisions and to the American public."

Solomon's early interest in science began as she watched such shows as *The Undersea World of Jacques Cousteau.* In 1981, she began working at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration in Boulder, Colorado.

Today, she is a professor at MIT. Solomon is best known for having both pioneered the theory explaining how and why the ozone hole occurs in Antarctica, and obtaining some of the first chemical measurements establishing manmade chlorofluorocarbons as its cause. In addition, she served as co-chair of Working Group 1 of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) from 2002-2008. Antarctica's Solomon Glacier and Solomon Saddle were named in her honor.



Shirley Ann Jackson received the National Medal of Science in 2014 "for her insightful work in condensed matter physics and particle physics, for her science-rooted public policy achievements, and for her inspiration to the next generation of professionals in the science, technology, engineering, and math fields."

Jackson became the president of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in 1999. The first African-American woman to receive a PhD degree – in any field – from MIT, she is the first African-American woman to lead a top-ranked research university. A trailblazer throughout her career, Jackson has held senior leadership positions in academia, government, industry and research. Jackson was appointed by President Clinton to chair the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission. Earlier in her career, she worked for AT&T

Bell Laboratories and Rutgers University. In 2014, President Obama appointed Jackson as the co-chair of the President's Intelligence Advisory Board. From 2009 to 2014, she served on the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology. She had previously co-authored a report for the President on a strategy for revitalizing manufacturing in the U.S.

Susan Solomon and Shirley Ann Jackson are among the more than 850 women profiled in our book*Her Story: A Timeline of the Women Who Changed America*. Women's accomplishments continue to inspire and encourage us all. Continue to help us tell women's stories!

Charlotte Waisman and Jill Tietjen

Visit Our Website

