Volume IV = Issue I = May 2008









NEWSLETTER

PO Box 18849 Denver, CO 80218 http://www.cogreatwomen.org info@cogreatwomen.org

Eleven outstanding women inducted

by Rossy Kay

The Colorado Women's Hall of Fame brought the stories of 11 more inspirational women to the people of this state by inducting them on March 11 into the 2008 Hall of Fame. The ceremony took place in the Donald R. Seawell Grand Ballroom at the Denver Center for Performing Arts.

The Mistress of Ceremonies, Juana Bordas (1997 Inductee), gave powerful introductions to eight contemporary and three historic inductees.

These women were selected because of their contributions to the Colorado community, whether social, political, or professional.

As the beautiful Colorado sun descended over downtown Denver, each of the eight living inductees spoke of their accomplishments. All the stories had different beginnings and different characters, but each woman's tale had the same outcome—overcoming odds to make positive changes for other people. Whether soft-spoken or outgoing, each individual was a powerful reminder of the great things women can do and should be considered inspirations to all people.

Colorado Women's Hall of Fame



2008

Induction Event

Sue Anschutz-Rodgers
Sister Alicia Valladolid-Cuarón
Evie Dennis
Jean Dubofsky
Capt. Katherine Keating
Mary Lou Makepeace
Lily Nie
Rhea Woltman
Anna Petteys
Eliza Routt
Mildred "Babe" Didrikson Zaharias



Mary Lou Makepeace (2008 Inductee)



Juana Bordas (1997 Inductee), Rhea Woltman (2008 Inductee), and Carlotta LaNier (2004 Inductee)



Evie Dennis (2008 Inductee) applauded by Jean Jones (2006 Inductee)

Colorado Women's Hall of Fame 2008 Induction



Joyse Lohse, nominator of Eliza Routt (2008 Inductee), Juana Bordas (1997 Inductee), and Gudy Gaskill (2002 Inductee)



Leslie Karnaskaus (left) and Vince Busmisre (right), nominators of "Babe" Didrikson Zaharias, with Joan Birkland (1996 Inductee)



Josie Heath (2000 Inductee) and Jean Dubofsky (2008 Inductee)



Sue Anshutz-Rodgers (2008 Inductee) and Marion Downs (2006 Inductee)



Captain Kay Keating (2008 Inductee)



Nell Brown Propst, nominator of Anna Petteys (2008 Inductee)



Lily Nie (2008 Inductee)



Event Chair Angela DellaSalle and Terri Taylor (Board of Directors)



Juana Bordas (1997 Inductee), Sister Alicia Vallodolid-Cuarón (2008 Inductee), Lena Archuleta (1985 Inductee)



Polly Baca (2000 Inductee), Captain Kay Keating (2008 Inductee), Juana Bordas (1997 Inductee)



Lindy Conter (Co-Chair Board of Directors) and Bonnie O'Leary, nominator of Captain Kay Keating (2008 Inductee).

In Memoriam 🦑

Rachel B. Noel January 15, 1918 – February 4, 2008

The Hall of Fame would like to acknowledge the passing of Rachel B. Noel (1996 Inductee), an inductee whose commitment to the community made a huge impact on Colorado and the nation. Noel was the first African-American to serve on the Denver Public Schools' Board of Education and the first African-American woman elected to public office in Colorado. While in that position, she fought for equal opportunity education for all children, which resulted in the



"Noel Resolution." This called for the superintendent to develop

a plan to integrate the school system.

She was a professor at Metropolitan State College, and chairperson of the African-American Studies Department. Because of her outstanding accomplishments, she was honored with the formation of the Rachel B. Noel Distinguished Professorship in 1981.

In her 90 years of life, she showed love and commitment to her community and continues to be an inspiration.

Leslie Fishbein Died March 19, 2008

The Board of Directors remembers Leslie Fishbein as a dedicated member of the Honorary Board. She actively participated in Board committees and was a vocal supporter of the Colorado Women's Hall of Fame. As a vibrant community member, she will be missed.

Author! Author!

Dottie Lamm (1985 Inductee) brought her love and knowledge of family together in her new book, *Daddy on Board: Parenting Roles for the 21st Century.* The former First Lady of Colorado includes personal insights coupled with facts from professional counselors to look at the ever-changing parenting roles in today's society. As an inductee in the Hall, she has certainly affected the people of Colorado, and now her message will be spread nationally. Besides being a writer, she is also an advocate for women's equality and reproductive rights, a cancer survivor, and Colorado Democratic candidate for U.S. Senator.

Her Story: A Timeline of the Women Who Changed America, (HarperCollins, in bookstores April 1) by Colorado Women's Hall of Fame Honorary Board Member Jill Tietjen and Charlotte Waisman is a vivid illustrated timeline highlighting the awesome and often unrecognized contributions of American women since the 1500s.

The over 850 women featured are of all backgrounds. Colorado Women's Hall of Fame inductees profiled include "Babe" Zaharias (2008 Inductee), Frances Wisebart Jacobs (1987 Inductee), Cleo Parker Robinson (1989 Inductee), Linda Alvarado (2002 Inductee), Wilma Webb (1991 Inductee), Marilyn Van Derbur Atler (1996 Inductee), Juana Bordas (1997

Inductee), Patricia Schroeder (1985 Inductee), and Steffie Allen (2006 Inductee).

In her Foreword, Madeleine Albright comments, "Spanning the centuries from 1587...this book will allow women and men to become more aware of and informed about the women who have been instrumental in giving us the quality of life we enjoy today...the profiled women were the pioneers for their causes, their professions, or their passions."

Schroeder's endorsement states: "Too many Americans think men fought their way to this country on dangerous sailing ships while women arrived on cruise ships. Her Story sets the record straight. Men and women came on the same ships and, shoulder-to-shoulder, built this great country together. Her Story is a must-read."





